In 2001, The Jesse Helms Center opened the Charles A. Cannon Free Enterprise Hall of Fame to honor the men and women dedicated to America’s free enterprise system. It all started with the four founding members: Charles A. Cannon, A.J. Fletcher, R.J. Reynolds and William Henry Belk. These four men were pillars of their community and made a lasting impact on their state and country.

Since opening, the Helms Center has inducted eight additional members and continues promoting the free enterprise system through our Free Enterprise Leadership Challenge and Free Enterprise Now® programs.